List of supporters

First Nations (formally announced)

Okanagan Nation Alliance’s feasibility study received unanimous approval from all leadership and communities.  The ONA represents all of the bands in the area – the Osoyoos Indian Band, Lower Similkameen Indian Band, Upper Similkameen Indian Band and Penticton Indian Band.

Local Federal and Provincial Politicians

MP Alex Atamanenko and MLA Dan Ashton

Regional Government (formally approved resolutions)

Okanagan Basin Water Board (representing the three Okanagan regional districts governments: Okanagan Nation Alliance, Water Supply Association of BC and the Okanagan Water Stewardship Council)

Regional District of the Okanagan Similkameen (Penticton, Summerland, Osoyoos, Oliver, Princeton, Keremeos, Kaleden and Okanagan Falls, Naramata, Okanagan Lake West and West Bench, Keremeos, Hedley, Cawston and surrounding rural areas)

Regional District of Kootenay Boundary (Fruitvale, Grand Forks, Greenwood, Midway, Midrose, Rossland, Trail, Warfield and five other local rural areas)

Regional District of the Central Okanagan (Kelowna, West Kelowna, Peachland and Lake Country, and two unincorporated electoral areas)

Regional District of the North Okanagan (Armstrong, Coldstream, Enderby, Lumby, Spallumcheen, Vernon and six electoral areas)

Municipal Government (formally approved resolutions) Osoyoos, Vernon, Midway, Greenwood, Grand Forks

Chambers of Commerce and other business (formally approved resolutions)

BC Wine Institute (represents 137 winery members, 21 wine stores and 15 grape grower partners)

Kelowna Chamber of Commerce (represents over 1,250 businesses)

South Okanagan Chamber of Commerce (represents over 350 businesses)

Tourism (formally approved resolutions)

Thompson-Okanagan Tourism Association (represents 90 agencies and 28 First Nation Bands)

Destination Osoyoos (represents tourism businesses in the Osoyoos region)

Tourism Penticton (represents tourism businesses in Penticton and Wine Country)

Tourism Oliver (represents tourism businesses in Oliver)

20 Environmental Groups

BC Nature, BC Spaces for Nature, CPAWS, David Suzuki Foundation, Georgia Strait Alliance, ForestEthics, Greenpeace, Nature BC, Nature Canada, Okanagan Similkameen Parks Society, Osoyoos Desert Society, Sierra Club (Vernon), South Okanagan Naturalists Club, South Okanagan Rehab Centre for Owls, South Okanagan Similkameen National Park Network,  Twin Lakes Aquifer Group, West Coast Environmental Law, Wildsight, and WWF-Canada.